Intellectual Property Owners Association

Serving the Global Intellectual Property Community


Antitrust & Competition Law Committee


This committee will study and report on issues relating to U.S. and foreign antitrust and competition laws impacting intellectual property owners.  The committee will seek to educate IPO members on issues at the intersection of antitrust and intellectual property law.  The committee also will:  a) track and report on proposed legislation, litigation, administrative actions, and other activity, in significant markets throughout the world, b) focus particularly on intellectual property licensing, including standard essential patent (“FRAND”) licensing in conjunction with the Standards Setting Committee, refusals to license and compulsory licensing, tying of intellectual property, and collective licensing through patent pools, c) address the acquisition of patents under key merger review schemes, d) assess and report  FTC policy regarding patent assertion entities, and e) consider antitrust challenges to efforts to enforce intellectual property and settlement of patent litigation, including antitrust challenges to enforcement of “reverse settlements” of ANDA patent litigation (so-called “pay-for-delay” schemes) in conjunction with the Pharmaceutical & Biotechnology Issues Committee.  The committee also will coordinate with other committees within the IPO’s Antitrust and Competition Law Division, to complement the activities of the other committees.

Committee Roster

Chair: Colene E. H. Blank, 3M Innovative Properties Co.
Vice Chair: Monte Cooper, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe, LLP
Secretary: Jordan Sigale, Dunlap Codding P.A.
Board Liaison: Buckmaster de Wolf, General Electric Co.
Staff Liaison: Samantha J. Aguayo, Intellectual Property Owners Association


 David Ashmore
 Micron Technology, Inc.

 Bruce G. Chapman
 Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP

 Charles Chesney
 Qualcomm Incorporated

 Cristiano Cori
 General Electric Co.

 William D. Coston
 Venable, LLP

 Brian C. Doughty
 Brooks Kushman P.C.

 Bryn Ekroot
 HP Inc.

 Christopher Ward Ferguson
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Nicholaus Floyd
 Morgan, Lewis Bockius

 Heinz Goddar
 Boehmert & Boehmert

 Tawfik Goma
 Koninklijke Philips N.V.

 Kurt M. Kjelland
 Qualcomm Incorporated

 John McDowell, Jr.
 Andrews Kurth Kenyon LLP

 Derel Monteith
 Caterpillar Inc.

 Kevin J. Nilsen
 Dow Chemical Co.

 Steven Page
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Milad Shara
 Wheatstone IP

 Joel Silver
 Gilead Sciences, Inc.

 James Hunt (Hunter) Yancey, Jr.
 Qualcomm Incorporated


Non-Voting Member:Dany H. Assaf, Torys LLP
Non-Voting Member:Ashwani Balayan, ALG India Law Offices LLP
Non-Voting Member:Marc Sandy Block, IBM Corp.
Non-Voting Member:Subroto Bose, Dolby Laboratories
Non-Voting Member:Michele Connors, Dell Technologies
Non-Voting Member:Mike Crowley, HP Inc.
Non-Voting Member:Paul Golian, Bristol-Myers Squibb Company
Non-Voting Member:Tobias Hahn, Hoyng Rokh Monegier
Non-Voting Member:James Harlan, InterDigital Holdings, Inc.
Non-Voting Member:Pablo D. Hendler, Jones Day
Non-Voting Member:Robert J. Kajubi, Sanofi
Non-Voting Member:Amy A. Marasco, Microsoft Corp.
Non-Voting Member:Filko Prugo, O'Melveny & Myers LLP

If you are an IPO Member, you may login to view committee contact information by clicking here.