Intellectual Property Owners Association

Serving the Global Intellectual Property Community


Asian Practice Committee


The Committee will identify, monitor, study, and recommend IPO positions regarding intellectual property acquisition, licensing, and enforcement issues in Asian countries such as Japan, China, India, Korea and Taiwan.  The Committee will also disseminate and exchange information and views among members of IPO regarding intellectual property problems in Asia.  Regular activities of the committee will include:

  • Organizing IP Dialog visits to Asia
  • Participating in and organizing/conducting seminars and conferences within the United States and Asia directed to Asian IPR
  • Developing white papers addressing acquisition, licensing, and enforcement aspects of Asian IPR
  • Making recommendations to the IPO Board on potential collaborations between IPO and Asian trade associations such as PPAC
  • Responding to requests for comments on proposed new IPR laws in Asian countries on behalf of IPO

Committee Roster

Chair: Lawrence T. Welch, Eli Lilly and Co.
Vice Chair: Stephen W. Bauer, Medtronic, Inc.
Vice Chair: Jimmy Cheng, Qualcomm Incorporated
Vice Chair: Michael J. D'Aurelio, Thomas|Horstemeyer, LLP
Vice Chair: Robert M. Siminski, Harness, Dickey & Pierce, P.L.C.
Secretary: Brad Yee Chin, Bracewell LLP
Secretary: Michelle Shen, Medtronic, Inc.
Board Liaison: Edward Blocker, Koninklijke Philips N.V.
Staff Liaison: Samantha J. Aguayo, Intellectual Property Owners Association


 John Bailey
 Birch, Stewart, Kolasch & Birch, LLP

 Briana Barron
 Gilead Sciences, Inc.

 Jeffrey Bergman
 Osha Liang, LLP

 Joe Brennan
 Google Inc.

 Carl Bruce
 Fish & Richardson, PC

 Daniel Bucca
 McDermott Will & Emery LLP

 Mukundan Chakrapani
 Clairvolex Knowledge Processes Pvt. Ltd.

 Christopher E. Chalsen

 Christopher J. Chan
 Eversheds Sutherland (US) LLP

 Ting Mao Chao
 Dolby Laboratories

 Ann Whei Chen
 Eli Lilly and Co.

 Hsiao-Chi Chen
 Jianq Chyun IP Office

 Siwen Chen
 Exxon Mobil Corp.

 Jeff C. Cho
 Jianq Chyun IP Office

 Kenneth K. Cho
 Kim & Chang

 Wendy Choi
 Ballard Spahr LLP

 Makiko Coffland
 Lane Powell PC

 Andrew David Dark

 Tanmay Dharmadhikari
 Cantor Colburn LLP

 Michael A. Dorfman
 Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP

 Timothy George Doyle
 Johnson & Johnson

 Chi Eng
 Eng Law Firm

 Weidan Fan
 Leydig, Voit & Mayer, Ltd.

 Frank Y. Gao
 McAndrews, Held & Malloy, Ltd.

 Paul C. Hashim
 Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd

 Mark Henderson
 Davidson Berquist Jackson & Gowdey, LLP

 Thomas Hildebrandt
 Thomas|Horstemeyer, LLP

 David W. Hill
 Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, LLP

 Edward Hotchkiss
 Cargill, Incorporated

 Shin Hung
 Borden Ladner Gervais, LLP

 Sung-Pil Hwang
 E.M. Hwang & Partners

 Keisaku Ishihara
 Nagoya International Patent Firm

 Zhenglong Jiang
 Shanghai Patent & Trademark Law Office, LLC

 Youngae Kim
 InterDigital Holdings, Inc.

 Ivan Kirchev
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Hosang Lee
 McDermott Will & Emery LLP

 S. Sam Li
 Wan Hui Da Intellectual Property Firm

 Hsin Lin
 Exxon Mobil Corp.

 Jacqueline Lui
 Eagle IP Limited

 Ying Luo
 Summit IP

 Kurtis MacFerrin
 Google Inc.

 Eloise J. Maki
 3M Innovative Properties Co.

 Catherine C. Maresh
 Immersion Corporation

 William J. McCabe
 Perkins Coie, LLP

 Aneesh Mehta
 Microsoft Corp.

 Yoko Mikami
 Jianq Chyun IP Office

 Kristian Robinson
 Spruson & Ferguson Pte Ltd

 Archana Shanker
 Anand and Anand Advocates

 David Shen
 Allen & Overy, LLP

 Louis Sorell
 Google Inc.

 Gail Su
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Khannan Suntharam
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Akiio Takagi
 General Electric Co.

 Joerg Thomaier
 Bayer Intellectual Property GmbH

 David V. Upite
 Procter & Gamble Co.

 Julie Walton
 Koch Industries Inc.

 Daisy Wang
 Lee and Li, Attorneys-at-Law

 Hui Wang
 Chofn Intellectual Property

 Liaoteng Wang
 East IP, P.C.

 Wenwen Wang
 Advance China IP Law Office

 Paul Warden-Hutton
 Houlihan² Patent & Trade Mark Attorneys

 David M. Weirich
 Procter & Gamble Co.

 Jian Xu
 Gowling WLG

 Mimi Yang
 Procter & Gamble Co.


Non-Voting Member:Amelia Choi, ChoiTechAndLaw Professional Corporation
Non-Voting Member:Ronald Embry, Jr., Patterson & Sheridan, LLP
Non-Voting Member:Mark Guetlich, Thomas|Horstemeyer, LLP
Non-Voting Member:Daniel Holt, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Non-Voting Member:David W. Jones, Microsoft Corp.
Non-Voting Member:Amy A. Marasco, Microsoft Corp.
Non-Voting Member:Aslam G. Mohamed, Partner, RNA, IP Attorneys
Non-Voting Member:Priya G. Prasad, Exxon Mobil Corp.

If you are an IPO Member, you may login to view committee contact information by clicking here.