Intellectual Property Owners Association

Serving the Global Intellectual Property Community


Emerging Technologies Committee


The Committee has been developed to explore intellectual property issues relating to emerging technologies in the global IP community.  The Committee will monitor the changing landscape relevant to emerging technologies, particularly green technology and additive manufacturing, and will seek to positively influence global policy positions on behalf of the IPO relevant to this important area.  The Committee will promote strong incentives for the discovery, development, use, and intellectual property protection of emerging technologies.  The Committee will specifically monitor judicial, legislative, and regulatory activity in this area as well as other proposals and initiatives from various organizations and governments having the potential to impact emerging technologies, all on a global scale.

Committee Roster

Chair: Daniel A. Staley, Caterpillar Inc.
Vice Chair: Ronald Embry, Jr., Patterson & Sheridan, LLP
Vice Chair: Bryan J. Vogel, Robins Kaplan LLP
Secretary: Jeff Gordon, Borden Ladner Gervais, LLP
Board Liaison: Micky Minhas, Microsoft Corp.
Staff Liaison: Samantha J. Aguayo, Intellectual Property Owners Association


 Mitch Abrams
 HP Inc.

 Robert A. Bailey
 Setter Roche, LLP

 Bryan J. Cannon
 Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC

 John W. Carpenter
 Perkins Coie, LLP

 Preetha Chakrabarti
 Crowell & Moring, LLP

 Marcia Chang
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Amelia Choi
 ChoiTechAndLaw Professional Corporation

 Matthew Evans
 Shumaker & Sieffert, P.A.

 Jason A. Fitzsimmons
 Sterne, Kessler, Goldstein & Fox, PLLC

 David Greenfield
 Qualcomm Incorporated

 Brad Hattenbach
 Dorsey & Whitney, LLP

 Kevin D. Jablonski
 Lane Powell PC

 Christopher Alan Johnson
 Dow Chemical Co.

 Karthik Kumar
 Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, LLP

 Erica Lowthers
 Aird & McBurney LP

 Amol Parikh
 McDermott Will & Emery

 T. Vann Pearce
 Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe, LLP

 Douglas H. Pearson
 Jones Day

 Caroline S. Pinkston
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Elias P. Soupos
 Leydig, Voit & Mayer, Ltd.

 Nicole Spence
 IBM Corp.

 Jonathan Thielbar
 Loeb & Loeb LLP


Non-Voting Member:Orion Armon, Cooley LLP
Non-Voting Member:Anouk Boon, Shell International B.V.
Non-Voting Member:Lian Huang, Bookoff McAndrews PLLC
Non-Voting Member:Lisa Mueller, Michael Best & Friedrich LLP
Non-Voting Member:Timothy Nathan, Koninklijke Philips N.V.
Non-Voting Member:Matteo Sabattini, Ericsson
Non-Voting Member:Corey Salsberg, Novartis
Non-Voting Member:Yuji Uchigasaki, Toshiba America, Inc.
Non-Voting Member:Annie Wang, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Non-Voting Member:James Hunt (Hunter) Yancey, Jr., Qualcomm Incorporated

If you are an IPO Member, you may login to view committee contact information by clicking here.