Intellectual Property Owners Association

Serving the Global Intellectual Property Community


European Practice Committee


The European Practice Committee has the objective to be the Voice of Europe within the global organization of IPO and a Voice of IPO towards European institutions.  The European Practice Committee envisions a balanced representation of committee members appointed by the IPO President from all industry sectors and other categories of IPO members, with a substantial number of committee members physically located in Europe.  The Committee will identify, monitor, study and recommend an IPO position on European-wide Intellectual Property Rights issues. Furthermore the Committee has the objective to disseminate and exchange information and views within global IPO regarding intellectual property issues in Europe, and to make recommendations to the IPO Board of Directors on possible harmonization of patent, trademark and copyright laws among Europe, Asia, the United States, and other regions.

•  Regular activities of the European Practice Committee may include:  Participate in seminars and conferences within Europe, Asia and the United States directed to European IPR,
•  Explore possibilities for an IPO-sponsored seminar or conference in Europe in cooperation with the IPO meetings and events staff,
•  Develop white papers for European institutions on behalf of IPO,
•  Develop European opinions for use within IPO,
•  Make recommendations to the IPO Board on potential collaborations between IPO and other IP related organizations,
•  Monitor and report on developments in legislation and regulations within the European Union, member states, and the European Patent Office, and recommend IPO positions on these issues; advocate IPO positions before representatives of these bodies;
•  Consult with International Practice groups,
•  Hold monthly telephone conference calls of the members of the committee,
•  Submit the end-of-the-year committee report and report on plans for the new year expected from all IPO committees.

Committee Roster

Chair: Robert B. Furr, Jr., INVISTA S.À.R.L.
Vice Chair: Matthew Georgiou, Carpmaels & Ransford LLP
Vice Chair: Aloys Hüttermann, Michalski Hüttermann & Partner
Vice Chair: James Signor, Leydig, Voit & Mayer, Ltd.
Secretary: David Black, Schwegman, Lundberg & Woessner, P.A.
Board Liaison: Thomas Smith, GlaxoSmithKline
Staff Liaison: Thomas S. Valente, Intellectual Property Owners Association


 Thomas J. Adam
 Simmons & Simmons LLP

 Robert Burrows
 Bristows LLP

 Jean-Jacques Canonici
 Gevers Patents

 Gabriela Catana
 Exxon Mobil Corp.

 William Chelton
 Dolby Laboratories

 Jim Denness
 Abel & Imray

 Marc Doring
 Allen & Overy, LLP

 Gautier Engisch
 Procter & Gamble Co.

 Christopher Ward Ferguson
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Naoise Gaffney
 Intellectual Ventures Management, LLC

 David Galaun
 Cisco Systems, Inc.

 Francesca Giovannini
 Osha Liang SARL

 Geert Glas
 Allen & Overy, LLP

 Tobias Hahn
 Hoyng Rokh Monegier

 Brian Hamilton
 Dell Technologies

 Daniel Holt
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Tobias Kaufmann
 Bardehle Pagenberg Partnerschaft MbB

 Nicolas Kerscher
 Caterpillar Inc.

 Paul Kovelman
 Medtronic, Inc.

 Brian Lefort
 Faegre Baker Daniels LLP

 Darren Lewis
 D Young & Co LLP

 Richard Lloyd
 HP Inc.

 Stephen J. Mackenzie
 Koch Industries Inc.

 Ann Mareschal
 Exxon Mobil Corp.

 Scott Marty
 Ballard Spahr LLP

 Jasper Meyer Zu Riemsloh
 Wildanger Kehrwald Graf V. Schwerin & Partner

 Cyra Nargolwalla
 Cabinet Plasseraud

 Dominic O'Brien
 GE Healthcare

 Alessandro Orsi
 HP Inc.

 John B. Pegram
 Fish & Richardson, PC

 Jens Petry
 Squire Patton Boggs

 John Richards
 Ladas & Parry LLP

 Dermot Roche

 Keith Stephen Ruddock
 Pfizer Inc.

 Regina Sam Penti
 Ropes & Gray LLP

 Bojan Savic
 Jones Day

 Marco Smit
 Dennemeyer & Associates S.A.

 Michael Sneddon
 MultiLing Corporation

 Andrew Spicer
 InterDigital Holdings, Inc.

 Leo Steenbeek
 Koninklijke Philips N.V.

 Tom Turner
 Abel & Imray

 Frank Van Coppenolle
 Gevers Patents

 Leythem Wall
 Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, LLP

 Adam Weeks
 Corning Incorporated

 Richard Willoughby
 D Young & Co LLP

Non-Voting Member:Michele Connors, Dell Technologies
Non-Voting Member:Paul Leblond, Google Inc.
Non-Voting Member:Jake Marshall, Carpmaels & Ransford LLP

If you are an IPO Member, you may login to view committee contact information by clicking here.