Intellectual Property Owners Association

Serving the Global Intellectual Property Community


Industrial Designs Committee


This committee will focus on identifying challenges in owning Design Rights around the world. The Committee will also focus on educating IPO members, the judiciary, and other stakeholders regarding the value of Design Rights ownership, the impact of relevant changes in the legal landscape of each of the various jurisdictions, and any new proactive measures owners and practitioners should take to maximize the potential benefits from Design Rights ownership. In doing so, the Committee will monitor legislation, case law, and rule changes, and will proactively submit comments and recommendations for protecting Design Rights in various jurisdictions, particularly the United States, Europe, Japan, China, and Korea. Further, the Committee will coordinate its activities with other relevant IPO Committees.

Committee Roster

Chair: Thibault Fayette, Nike, Inc.
Vice Chair: Elizabeth Diane Ferrill, Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, LLP
Vice Chair: Anthony Michael Prenol, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
Secretary: Daniel A. Gajewski, Sterne, Kessler, Goldstein & Fox, PLLC
Board Liaison: William J. Coughlin, Ford Global Technologies LLC
Staff Liaison: Thomas S. Valente, Intellectual Property Owners Association


 Joseph Anderson, III
 Ballard Spahr LLP

 James J. Aquilina
 Design IP, P.C.

 Dunstan Barnes
 McAndrews, Held & Malloy, Ltd.

 Christopher V. Carani
 McAndrews, Held & Malloy, Ltd.

 Joseph J. Christian
 General Electric Co.

 Ken Davis
 Morgan, Lewis & Bockius, LLP

 Tracy-Gene G. Durkin
 Sterne, Kessler, Goldstein & Fox, PLLC

 John C. Evans
 Jones Day

 Cory W. Fisher
 Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP

 Timothy P. Fletcher
 One BusinessDesign, LLC

 Gary L. Griswold

 Reed Hablinski
 HP Inc.

 John Hemmer
 Morgan, Lewis & Bockius, LLP

 Alan Herda
 Haynes and Boone, LLP

 Jessie Herrera
 Patterson & Sheridan, LLP

 Quin Hoellwarth
 Apple Inc.

 Richard Jackson
 Carpmaels & Ransford LLP

 Jonathan Kwok
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Paul Leblond
 Google Inc.

 James Longwell
 Gowling WLG

 Wilson Mathew
 HP Inc.

 Charles L. Mauro CHFP
 Mauro New Media

 Richard J. McKenna
 Foley & Lardner LLP

 Enrique J. Mora
 Siemens Corp.

 Jeffrey L. Myers
 Apple Inc.

 Karin J. Norton
 Samsung Electronics

 Fidel D. Nwamu

 Andrew O'Brien
 Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP

 David Aaron Rood
 Foley & Lardner LLP

 Perry J. Saidman
 SAIDMAN DesignLaw Group

 Daniel G. Shanley
 Andrews Kurth Kenyon LLP

 Paul L. Sharer
 Jones Day

 Tracy A. Stitt
 Jones Day

 Richard S. Stockton
 Banner & Witcoff, Ltd.

 Cooper C. Woodring
 Woodring Design


Non-Voting Member:Ola Adekunle, Google Inc.
Non-Voting Member:Tina Nguyen, Hewlett Packard Enterprise

If you are an IPO Member, you may login to view committee contact information by clicking here.