Intellectual Property Owners Association

Serving the Global Intellectual Property Community


Domain Names & Social Media Committee



The Committee plans to investigate issues and take actions to further the interests of IPO members with respect to domain names and social media issues. With respect to domain names, the Committee plans to monitor and seek to influence the activities of the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) and with various domain registries with respect to existing TLDs and with respect to the creation and launch of new gTLDs including, but not limited to, whether the creation, allocation, launch, and operation of new gTLDs are fair and are accompanied by appropriate intellectual property rights protection mechanisms (e.g., IP claims, sunrise claims, dispute resolution procedures, etc.). Where appropriate, the Committee will make recommendations to IPO for submission to ICANN, and/or participation with ICANN’s processes. The Committee will also monitor developments regarding the UDRP and other dispute resolution procedures, developments of the Anti-cybersquatting Consumer Protection Act, and other resources available to trademark owners to assist them in re-capturing infringing domain names from cybersquatters.

With respect to social media issues, the Committee plans to explore the idea of a cross-platform dispute resolution process relating to social media handles. In addition, the Committee plans to develop guides and best practices for brand owners regarding the major social media platforms and their rights protection mechanisms, including information on registering social media handles, important key terms and conditions to note if a brand participates on a particular platform, forms or links to processes and procedures for filing complaints, and other topics of general interest. Other areas of exploration will include general education of the IPO membership on legal issues in social media, practical guidance on the use of third party content on social media, best practices for enforcing rights through social media, issues involving employee use of social media, and the development of company social media policies.

The Committee plans to poll IPO’s members periodically to determine their interests in these issues and plans to address additional topics as they are raised and agreed upon by its members. The Committee will develop project teams to execute upon these topics and will coordinate its work as appropriate with other committees in IPO’s Trademark Division.

Committee Roster

Chair: Jake Feldman, Johnson & Johnson
Vice Chair: David A. Einhorn, Scarinci Hollenbeck
Vice Chair: Joshua S. Jarvis, Foley Hoag LLP
Secretary: Anne E. Naffziger, Leydig, Voit & Mayer, Ltd.
Board Liaison: Creighton Frommer, RELX Group Plc
Staff Liaison: Samantha J. Aguayo, Intellectual Property Owners Association


 Ingrid Baele
 Koninklijke Philips N.V.

 Lynne MJ Boisineau
 McDermott Will & Emery

 Mr. Darren S. Cahr
 Drinker, Biddle & Reath, LLP

 Matthew Frisbee
 Fross Zelnick Lehrman & Zissu, PC

 Rachel Geist
 Jones Day

 Michael Maoz
 General Electric Co.

 Alan Pate

 Flip JC Petillion
 Crowell & Moring, LLP

 Dennis S. Prahl
 Ladas & Parry LLP

 Hemang Shah
 Qualcomm Incorporated

 Claudia W. Stangle
 Leydig, Voit & Mayer, Ltd.

 Andrew Stern
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Francis Toldi
 HP Inc.

 Elizabeth Twomey
 Eastman Chemical Co.

 Boris Umansky
 Ladas & Parry LLP

 Michelle Zimmermann
 Leydig, Voit & Mayer, Ltd.


Non-Voting Member:April L. Besl, Dinsmore & Shohl LLP
Non-Voting Member:Wendy C. Larson, Pirkey Barber PLLC

If you are an IPO Member, you may login to view committee contact information by clicking here.