Intellectual Property Owners Association

Serving the Global Intellectual Property Community


IP Licensing Committee


The IP Licensing Committee focuses on (including discussion, review and analysis of) intellectual property licensing and related matters and issues.  This can include topics or issues associated with patent, technology/trade secret, software/copyright and trademark licensing; cross and joint licensing; licensing for income or other business value; industry and market trends; best practices; agreements and agreement provisions; impact or relevance of bankruptcy, anti-trust, standards, compulsory licensing, etc. on licensing; and associated legal and business aspects and issues. Prior topics addressed have included:  Developing A Reasonable and Non-Discriminatory (RAND) Patent License; Maximizing The Value Of Technology & IPR Through Licensing; and Post-Expiration Royalty Considerations. The Committee interfaces, when applicable, with other committees on issue pertaining to standards, anti-trust, and other areas of mutual interest.

Committee Roster

Chair: Andrew Wojnicki, IBM Corp.
Vice Chair: Erin Thomson, Vinson & Elkins, LLP
Secretary: Christopher C. Smith, Brooks Kushman P.C.
Board Liaison: William Krovatin, Merck & Co Inc.
Staff Liaison: Samantha J. Aguayo, Intellectual Property Owners Association
Staff Liaison: Colleen Wellington-Caban, Intellectual Property Owners Association


 Patrick M. Arenz
 Robins Kaplan LLP

 Estelle C. Bakun
 Exxon Mobil Corp.

 Michael Beckett
 Raytheon Co.

 David C. Berry
 Brooks Kushman P.C.

 Michael Braunstein
 Caterpillar Inc.

 Thomas P. Burke
 Ropes & Gray LLP

 Scott W. Burt
 Conversant Intellectual Property Management Inc

 Jennifer Adamson Carnahan
 Dow Chemical Co.

 Janda M Carter
 Caterpillar Inc.

 Marcia Chang
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Scott Chappell
 Bookoff McAndrews PLLC

 Dan Croft
 HP Inc.

 Adrian Cyhan
 Dinsmore & Shohl LLP

 Kaustuv Das
 Intellectual Ventures Management, LLC

 Luke Dauchot
 Kirkland & Ellis, LLP

 Marilyn Smith Dawkins
 Deere & Co.

 Keith R. Derrington
 Bracewell LLP

 Reena R. Desai
 Synthetic Genomics

 Jeff Dodd
 Andrews Kurth Kenyon LLP

 Serena I. Farquharson-Torres
 Bristol-Myers Squibb Company

 Gillian M. Fenton

 Robert H. Fischer
 McCarter & English LLP - Stamford, CT

 Philip J. Fries, Jr.
 Qualcomm, Inc.

 Michael Fuerch
 Koninklijke Philips N.V.

 Jason Greenberg
 Fried Frank Harris Shriver & Jacobson LLP

 Jeff Gritton
 Baker Botts LLP

 Brian J. Hamilla
 United Technologies Corp.

 Jean-Paul Hoffman
 Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman, LLP

 Matthew Hollander
 Tesla, Inc.

 Paul Im
 Koninklijke Philips N.V.

 Monika L'Orsa Jaensson
 Dinsmore & Shohl LLP

 Morgan, Lewis & Bockius, LLP

 Matthew Jupina
 Bridgestone Americas, Inc.

 David Kaplan
 Micron Technology, Inc.

 Craig Komanecki
 Faegre Baker Daniels LLP

 James J. Kozuch
 Caesar Rivise, PC

 Miranda Leu
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Justin Lewis
 Ocean Tomo

 Ka-on Li
 Jones Day

 James Markarian
 Siemens Corp.

 Julia C. Mattis
 InterDigital Holdings, Inc.

 Jason S. Miller
 Lockheed Martin

 Frank Montgomery
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Steven G. Morgan
 Aramco Services Company

 F Tyler Morrison
 United Technologies Corp.

 Charles H. Mottier
 Leydig, Voit & Mayer, Ltd.

 Warren L. Nachlis
 Jones Day

 Geoffrey L. Oberhaus
 Dinsmore & Shohl LLP

 Cheung Peggy
 Jones Day

 Andy Peterson
 Micron Technology, Inc.

 John Wayne Pint
 Koninklijke Philips N.V.

 John Poliak
 BP America, Inc.

 Gary Savitt
 Nokia Inc.

 Elizabeth Sietsema
 McCracken & Gillen LLC

 Christopher C. Smith
 Brooks Kushman P.C.

 Karl Emil Stauss
 Dow Chemical Company

 Michael Stimson
 Norton Rose Fulbright

 Benjamin P. Tabor
 Microsoft Corp.

 Catherine Toppin
 General Electric Co.

 Tearra Vaughn
 Foley & Lardner LLP

 MaCharri R. Vorndran-Jones
 Eli Lilly and Co.

 Maria C. Walsh
 Exxon Mobil Corp.

 Brian H. Way
 Dolby Laboratories

 Bruce S. Weintraub
 Pfizer Inc.


Non-Voting Member:Thomas Blasey, Northrop Grumman Corp.
Non-Voting Member:Michael Brunelle, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Non-Voting Member:Thomas Burton, Siemens Corp.
Non-Voting Member:Amelia Choi, ChoiTechAndLaw Professional Corporation
Non-Voting Member:Gunnar Bjorn Gundersen, Gundersen Law
Non-Voting Member:Reed Hablinski, HP Inc.
Non-Voting Member:Ronald J. Kamis, Prismatic Law Group, PLLC
Non-Voting Member:Matthew L. Madsen, Monsanto Co.
Non-Voting Member:Sean Sullivan

If you are an IPO Member, you may login to view committee contact information by clicking here.