Intellectual Property Owners Association

Serving the Global Intellectual Property Community


Open Source Committee


The Committee studies and, when appropriate, reports on issues relating to open source licensing, governance, and litigation.  Development and distribution of software and other technologies under open source (sometimes called “free”) licenses has become a multibillion dollar industry. There are a wide variety of open source licenses available (many, but not all, of which can be found at the Open Source Initiative’s website:, ranging from ”academic” or “permissive” licenses like the Berkeley Systems Distribution (BSD) license to “copyleft” licenses like the GNU General Public Licenses (GPL). All of these licenses raise legal, business, and policy issues and have different requirements with respect to copyright, patent, and other intellectual property to which the licensor gives fairly unrestricted rights.  Some of the ramifications of these various licenses are yet to be fully interpreted by courts or administrative bodies, and as a result there are a variety of opinions on how these licenses would ultimately be enforced.  Open source licenses raise many as-yet-unresolved issues involving IP ownership, licensing, control, integration, business model, divestiture and merger/acquisition, among others.  The Committee’s primary purposes will be to monitor, discuss, and possibly participate (under Board direction) in legal developments associated with open source licensing, to participate (under Board direction) in formulating any agreed-upon IPO policies relating to open source licensing, to inform the IPO Board and membership of current issues and practices relevant to open source licensing, and to take positions consistent with the needs and desires of the IPO Board and members on open source licensing in appropriate fora.

Committee Roster

Chair: Hanna Kim, Microsoft Corp.
Vice Chair: Philmore H. Colburn, II, Cantor Colburn LLP
Secretary: Karla Kristina Padilla, Qualcomm Incorporated
Board Liaison: Anthony DiBartolomeo, SAP SE
Staff Liaison: Samantha J. Aguayo, Intellectual Property Owners Association


 Carmen Adams
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Suvashis Bhattacharya

 Michael Brunelle
 Nokia USA Inc.

 Jonathan Burns
 Google Inc.

 Yolanda Del Toro

 Kevin C. Ecker
 Koninklijke Philips N.V.

 Bert Fary
 General Electric Co.

 Gaurav Gupta
 HP Inc.

 Scott Jameson
 HP Inc.

 Raymond Krasinski
 Koninklijke Philips N.V.

 John S. Le Roy
 Brooks Kushman P.C.

 Marcus Lemmon
 HP Inc.

 Brett P. Lohmeier
 Baker & McKenzie LLP

 David Marr
 Qualcomm Incorporated

 Tim Murphy
 Micron Technology, Inc.

 Martin F. Noonan
 Pitney Bowes Inc.

 Preetam B. Pagar
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Joseph Reed
 Caterpillar Inc.

 Sue Ross
 Norton Rose Fulbright

 Indira Saladi

 Adriane Scola
 Lane Powell PC

 Matthew Shaw
 InterDigital Holdings, Inc.

 Rachel Smith
 Brooks Kushman P.C.

 Jamie B. Specter
 Capital One

 Carla Weitkamp
 Microsoft Corp.

 Andrew Wilson
 Baker Botts LLP


Non-Voting Member:Thomas Burton, Siemens Corp.
Non-Voting Member:David Djavaherian, PacTech Law
Non-Voting Member:Latonia Gordon, Microsoft Corp.
Non-Voting Member:Jean-Paul Hoffman, Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman, LLP
Non-Voting Member:Amy A. Marasco, Microsoft Corp.

If you are an IPO Member, you may login to view committee contact information by clicking here.