Intellectual Property Owners Association

Serving the Global Intellectual Property Community


Pharmaceutical & Biotechnology Issues Committee


The Committee will advise the IPO Board regarding legislative changes, patent office policies, regulatory issues, and judicial decisions affecting the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industry.  This includes pharmaceuticals subject to the Drug Price Competition and Patent Term Restoration Act (the Hatch-Waxman Act), the Biologics Price Competition and Innovation Act (the BPCIA Act), and non-U.S. counterpart laws and regulations.  The Committee will identify amicus opportunities in the U.S., Europe, and elsewhere on key matters impacting the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industry.  The Committee’s primary goal is to review proposed legislative and regulatory initiatives, and proactively submit comments and recommendations to the Board that reflect the proper balance between generic drug/biosimilar entry and maintaining strong incentives for the discovery, development, and protection of new pharmaceutical products.  A secondary goal of the Committee is to monitor and comment upon judicial decisions and proposed patent practice changes for the education and benefit of IPO members.

Committee Roster

Chair: Paul Golian, Bristol-Myers Squibb Company
Vice Chair: Grantland G. Drutchas, McDonnell Boehnen Hulbert & Berghoff LLP
Vice Chair: Michael L. Fuller, Knobbe, Martens, Olson & Bear, LLP
Secretary: Kathryn Wade, Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP
Board Liaison: Roy F. Waldron, Pfizer Inc.
Staff Liaison: Samantha J. Aguayo, Intellectual Property Owners Association


 Adriane Antler
 Jones Day

 Timothy J. Babcock
 Akros Pharma Inc.

 Ashwani Balayan
 ALG India Law Offices LLP

 Aaron F. Barkoff
 McAndrews, Held & Malloy, Ltd.

 Bryan Beel
 Perkins Coie, LLP

 William Boudreaux
 Brinks Gilson & Lione

 Julie Burke
 Knobbe, Martens, Olson & Bear, LLP

 Paul Calvo
 Sterne, Kessler, Goldstein & Fox, PLLC

 Christopher Michael Cherry
 Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC

 Rhiannon D'Agostin

 Garreth Andrew Duncan
 D Young & Co LLP

 Therese Finan
 Dinsmore & Shohl LLP

 James D. Fontenot
 Alexion Pharmaceuticals

 Jennifer Fox
 Brinks Gilson & Lione

 Tasha Francis
 Fish & Richardson, PC

 David A. Gass
 Marshall, Gerstein & Borun LLP

 Maximilienne Giannelli
 Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, LLP

 Linda Govenlock

 John M. Griem, Jr.
 Carter Ledyard & Milburn LLP

 Timothy E. Grimsrud
 Faegre Baker Daniels LLP

 Tom Gumley
 FPA Patent Attorneys Pty Ltd

 Shawn Hamidinia
 Birch, Stewart, Kolasch & Birch, LLP

 Erica Hines
 Heslin Rothenberg Farley & Mesiti PC

 Christopher T. Jagoe
 Kirkland & Ellis, LLP

 Jennifer K. Johnson
 Blaze Bioscience, Inc.

 Sarah A. Kagan
 Banner & Witcoff, Ltd.

 Ronald J. Kamis
 Prismatic Law Group, PLLC

 Lawrence Kass
 Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC

 Daniel Kazhdan
 Jones Day

 Omar Khan
 Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr, LLP

 Nicole Kopinski
 Leydig, Voit & Mayer, Ltd.

 Serge Lapointe
 Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP

 Gasper J. LaRosa
 Jones Day

 Anne Li
 Crowell & Moring, LLP

 Stephanie Adrienne Lodise

 Tim Marquart
 Gilead Sciences, Inc.

 Deborah Martin
 Pfizer Inc.

 Vikram A. Mathrani
 Honigman Miller Schwartz and Cohn LLP

 Douglas McCann
 Fish & Richardson, PC

 Eileen McMahon
 Torys LLP

 Christopher Mizzo
 Kirkland & Ellis, LLP

 Jacob Moore
 Foley & Lardner LLP

 Lisa Mueller
 Michael Best & Friedrich LLP

 Gerald M. Murphy
 Birch, Stewart, Kolasch & Birch, LLP

 Jeff Nichols
 Brinks Gilson & Lione

 Liliana Nolan
 Mersan, Abogados

 Hiroya Okumura
 Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited

 Keith Orso
 Irell & Manella LLP

 Caroline Ya-Lan Pao
 Jianq Chyun IP Office

 Donna O. Perdue
 Perdue IP Law APC

 Xavier Pillai
 Leydig, Voit & Mayer, Ltd.

 Filko Prugo
 O'Melveny & Myers LLP

 Leanne Rakers
 Harness, Dickey & Pierce, P.L.C.

 Jennifer Raoul
 Borden Ladner Gervais, LLP

 Preston K. Ratliff
 Paul Hastings LLP

 Irena Royzman
 Patterson Belknap Webb & Tyler LLP

 Hari Santhanam
 Kirkland & Ellis, LLP

 Hassen Sayeed
 Paul Hastings LLP

 Richard Henry Schabowsky
 Dinsmore & Shohl LLP

 Michael Schubert
 Leydig, Voit & Mayer, Ltd.

 Patricia A. Shatynski
 Merck & Co Inc.

 Teige Sheehan
 Heslin Rothenberg Farley & Mesiti PC

 Vincent K. Shier

 Brian Shortell
 Ballard Spahr LLP

 Kitt Sinden
 Aird & McBurney LP

 Lynn Terrebonne
 Caesar Rivise, PC

 Thomas Thrash
 Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP

 Adrian Trioli
 Adrian M Trioli Patent & Trademark Attorney

 Krista Vink Venegas
 McDermott Will & Emery LLP

 Kathryn Wade
 Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP

 Andrew W. Williams
 McDonnell Boehnen Hulbert & Berghoff LLP

 Jeffrey A. Wolfson
 Haynes and Boone, LLP

 Michael Yamauchi
 Alexion Pharmaceuticals

 Constance Yeung
 Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited

 Richard Zanzalari
 Pfizer Inc.

 Donald L. Zuhn
 McDonnell Boehnen Hulbert & Berghoff LLP


Non-Voting Member:Frank Y. Gao, McAndrews, Held & Malloy, Ltd.
Non-Voting Member:Sheldon Heber, Merck & Co Inc.
Non-Voting Member:Pablo D. Hendler, Jones Day
Non-Voting Member:Emily Johnson, Amgen, Inc.
Non-Voting Member:Robert J. Kajubi, Sanofi
Non-Voting Member:Zhong Li, Fujibrebio Diagnostics, Inc.
Non-Voting Member:Mercedes K. Meyer, Drinker, Biddle & Reath, LLP
Non-Voting Member:Beverley Moore, Borden Ladner Gervais, LLP
Non-Voting Member:J. Eric Thies, Merck & Co Inc.
Non-Voting Member:Albert M. Torressen, MultiLing Corporation
Non-Voting Member:Holger Carl Tostmann, Wallinger Ricker Schlotter Tostmann

If you are an IPO Member, you may login to view committee contact information by clicking here.