Intellectual Property Owners Association

Serving the Global Intellectual Property Community


U.S. Patent Office Practice Committee


The Committee will work to improve patent office practices in the USPTO. To that end, the Committee will:
1. Study and report on changes in patent practice proposed by the USPTO for adoption. When appropriate, the committee will recommend to the IPO comments on such suggested changes in patent practice;
2. Survey the membership for feedback on and changes to patent practice that can be recommended to the USPTO for implementation.  Collect, analyze and report to appropriate USPTO officials feedback including suggestions and proposals for changes to patent practice and develop recommendations for changes in the Patent Statute. The Committee will identify the most important changes and will work with relevant government officials and the appropriate legislative bodies to have such changes implemented;
3. Foster additional dialog between the IPO and the Patent Office by holding periodic meetings with the Commissioner and other executives;
4. Work with other Patent Division Committees to conform U.S patent practice to international standards, and to coordinate other activities relevant to this Committee’s charter with those Division Committees; and
5. Organize, sponsor and co-sponsor educational sessions on patent practice, including assisting in IPO’s PTO Day planning activities.

Committee Roster

Chair: Kaveh Rashidi-Yazd, Siemens Corp.
Vice Chair: Courtenay C. Brinckerhoff, Foley & Lardner LLP
Vice Chair: Kevin R. Greenleaf, Dentons US LLP
Vice Chair: Sunjeev Singh Sikand, RatnerPrestia
Secretary: Aamir Haq, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Board Liaison: Manny W. Schecter, IBM Corp.
Staff Liaison: Samantha J. Aguayo, Intellectual Property Owners Association


 Joseph Agusta
 Qualcomm, Inc.

 Jennifer M. Anda
 IBM Corp.

 Thomas E. Anderson
 Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr, LLP

 David J. Arthur
 Xerox Corp.

 Dane Baltich
 Alston & Bird LLP

 Glenn Thomas Barrett
 Exxon Mobil Corp.

 Travis D. Boone
 Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC

 Sarah Burrows
 HP Inc.

 James Carroll
 General Electric Co.

 Christopher Cauble
 Harness, Dickey & Pierce, P.L.C.

 Ernest G. Cusick
 General Electric Co.

 Joshua Dingott
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 David Easwaran
 Alston & Bird LLP

 Tifani Edwards
 Dow Chemical Co.

 Peggy Focarino
 Oblon, McClelland, Maier & Neustadt, L.L.P.

 Brian D. Graham
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Michael S. Greenfield
 McDonnell Boehnen Hulbert & Berghoff LLP

 Michael Haas
 Koninklijke Philips N.V.

 Melissa Hansel
 Nelson Mullins Riley Scarborough, L.L.P

 John T. Haran
 Corning Inc.

 Jeffrey R. Joseph
 Shumaker & Sieffert, P.A.

 Anthony Kahng
 Samsung Electronics

 Samuel Katz
 Cisco Systems, Inc.

 Frank Keegan
 Koninklijke Philips N.V.

 Howard J. Klein
 Klein, O'Neill & Singh, LLP

 Jennifer Rice Knight
 Law Office of Jennifer Knight, PLLC

 Nicholas Lanzatella
 Schwegman, Lundberg & Woessner, P.A.

 Belinda Lee
 Jianq Chyun IP Office

 James K. Leonard
 Price Heneveld LLP

 Chris Lightner
 Alston & Bird LLP

 Laura Majerus
 Google Inc.

 Joseph J. Mallon
 Knobbe, Martens, Olson & Bear, LLP

 Daniel R. McClure
 McClure, Qualey & Rodack, LLP

 Raymond Millien
 General Electric Co.

 Cynthia Neal
 Dinsmore & Shohl LLP

 Tina Nguyen
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Wesley Nicolas
 Novo Nordisk Inc.

 Pete G. Pappas
 Sutherland Asbill & Brennan LLP

 Shyam Kishore Parekh
 Qualcomm, Inc.

 Dianne Pecoraro
 Merck & Co Inc.

 John G. Rauch
 Brinks Gilson & Lione

 Judith Cothorn Rawls
 Dow Chemical Co.

 Arvind Reddy
 Thomas|Horstemeyer, LLP

 Jason W. Rhodes
 Birch, Stewart, Kolasch & Birch, LLP

 Marc V. Richards
 Brinks Gilson & Lione

 David Rodack
 McClure, Qualey & Rodack, LLP

 Mike Romani
 Micron Technology, Inc.

 Kenneth Salen
 Greenblum & Bernstein, P.L.C.

 Joseph M. Sauer
 Jones Day

 Peter Scott
 Avago Technologies

 Benjamin Searle
 HP Inc.

 Harry B. Shubin
 Millen, White, Zelano & Branigan, PC

 Brian L. Smiler
 Roche, Inc.

 William F. Smith

 Sean Sullivan

 Letitia Walker
 Merck & Co Inc.

 John P. Wappel
 Caterpillar Inc.

 Jeff Woodworth
 HP Inc.

 Stephen Yoder
 IBM Corp.

 Betty J. Zea
 Procter & Gamble Co.

 Douglas Zhang
 General Electric Co.


Non-Voting Member:Janda M Carter, Caterpillar Inc.
Non-Voting Member:Michael L. Fuller, Knobbe, Martens, Olson & Bear, LLP
Non-Voting Member:Bernard J. Graves, Jr., Eastman Chemical Co.
Non-Voting Member:Ronald J. Kamis, Prismatic Law Group, PLLC
Non-Voting Member:Kiran Kanti Patel, Kramer & Amado, P.C.
Non-Voting Member:Scott Pojunas, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Non-Voting Member:Kathryn Wade, Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP

If you are an IPO Member, you may login to view committee contact information by clicking here.