Intellectual Property Owners Association

Serving the Global Intellectual Property Community


U.S. Post-Grant Patent Office Practice Committee


The Committee’s areas of responsibility include all aspects of post-grant patent practice in the U.S., including post-grant review, inter partes review, inter partes reexamination, ex parte reexamination, supplemental examination, interferences, derivation proceedings, transitional program for covered business method patents, and reissue proceedings.

The Committee plans to continue to study issues raised by the IPO Board of Directors (“Board”), the USPTO Director (via rulemaking proposals), the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, and the members of the Committee related to USPTO post-grant proceedings..

The Committee also will continue to consider decisions, legislation, and proposed rule changes concerning formal and substantive issues concerning such proceedings. The Committee may make propose recommendations to IPO Board of Directors concerning the fair, balanced, “just, speedy, and inexpensive” administration of post-grant proceedings.

Committee Roster

Chair: Emily Johnson, Amgen, Inc.
Vice Chair: Eric C. Cohen, Brinks Gilson & Lione
Vice Chair: Eleanor Yost, Carlton Fields
Secretary: Christopher Comiskey, United Technologies Corp.
Board Liaison: Brian Suffredini, United Technologies Corp.
Staff Liaison: Samantha J. Aguayo, Intellectual Property Owners Association


 John C. Alemanni
 Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP

 Orion Armon
 Cooley LLP

 Srikala P. Atluri
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Mark Backofen
 Locke Lord LLP

 Andrej Barbic
 Proskauer Rose, LLP

 Steven C. Benjamin

 Timothy E. Bianchi, Patent Attorney
 Schwegman, Lundberg & Woessner, P.A.

 Edward Black
 Dow Chemical Co.

 Fernando A. Borrego
 BASF Corporation

 Jonathan R. Bowser
 Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC

 Edward . Brant
 Dow Chemical Co.

 Dion Bregman
 Morgan, Lewis & Bockius, LLP

 Jill M. Browning
 Greenblum & Bernstein, P.L.C.

 Christopher Bruenjes
 Drinker, Biddle & Reath, LLP

 John T. Callahan
 Sughrue Mion, PLLC

 Anne Cappella
 Weil, Gotshal & Manges, LLP

 Tonya Combs
 Eli Lilly and Co.

 Michele Connors
 Dell Technologies

 James L. Davis, Jr.
 Ropes & Gray LLP

 John Paul Davis
 Wood, Herron & Evans, LLP

 William E. Devitt
 Jones Day

 Christopher Douglas
 Alston & Bird LLP

 Erik Drange
 3M Innovative Properties Co.

 Erin Marie Dunston
 Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC

 Joseph W. Flerlage
 Trading Technologies International, Inc.

 Geoffrey K. Gavin
 Jones Day

 Richard Gervase
 Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo, P.C.

 Charles L. Gholz

 Robert Duncan Gravois
 Thomas|Horstemeyer, LLP

 Kevin R. Greenleaf
 Dentons US LLP

 Herbert D. Hart, III
 McAndrews, Held & Malloy, Ltd.

 Angela Haughey
 Procter & Gamble Co.

 James R. Hietala, Jr.
 Intellectual Ventures Management, LLC

 Lian Huang
 Bookoff McAndrews PLLC

 R. Danny Huntington
 Rothwell, Figg, Ernst & Manbeck

 Christos A. Ioannidi
 InterDigital Holdings, Inc.

 Sharon A. Israel
 Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP

 William Jenks
 Jenks IP Law

 Robert J. Kajubi

 James Kang

 David Kaplan
 Micron Technology, Inc.

 David Kerwick
 Merck & Co Inc.

 Oleg Khariton
 Dinsmore & Shohl LLP

 Kenneth Knox
 Thomas|Horstemeyer, LLP

 Michael Kramer
 Qualcomm Incorporated

 Justin L. Krieger
 Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP

 Stephen G. Kunin

 Jennifer Lacroix
 SmithAmundsen LLC

 Kevin B. Laurence
 Laurence & Phillips IP Law LLP

 Joshua Lorentz
 Dinsmore & Shohl LLP

 Nate Luman
 Knobbe, Martens, Olson & Bear, LLP

 Clifton E. McCann
 Thompson Hine LLP

 Suzanne Michel
 Google Inc.

 Michael Morlock
 Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP

 Jordan Morris
 HP Inc.

 Brian P. Murphy
 Haug Partners LLP

 Tina Nguyen
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 David W. OBrien
 Haynes and Boone, LLP

 Tara Rahemba
 Alexion Pharmaceuticals

 Kevin Remus

 John P. Rondini
 Brooks Kushman P.C.

 Tim R. Seeley
 Intellectual Ventures Management, LLC

 Russell Slifer
 Schwegman, Lundberg & Woessner, P.A.

 Blake Sorensen
 HP Inc.

 Bruce H. Stoner, Jr.
 Greenblum & Bernstein, P.L.C.

 Buddy Toliver
 Cisco Systems, Inc.

 Marc W. Vander Tuig
 Senniger Powers LLP

 Ross Viguet
 Norton Rose Fulbright

 Matt Wade
 HP Inc.

 Stuart W. Yothers
 Jones Day

 Dana M. Zottola
 Alston & Bird LLP


Non-Voting Member:Ola Adekunle, Google Inc.
Non-Voting Member:Ronald A. Antush, Nokia USA Inc.
Non-Voting Member:Kenneth R. Corsello, IBM Corp.
Non-Voting Member:Angela M. Coxe, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Non-Voting Member:Gary M. Ropski, Brinks Gilson & Lione
Non-Voting Member:Sam Savanich, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Non-Voting Member:Gary Savitt, Nokia USA Inc.
Non-Voting Member:Daniel A. Staley, Caterpillar Inc.
Non-Voting Member:Jeffrey Curtiss Totten, Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, LLP

If you are an IPO Member, you may login to view committee contact information by clicking here.