Intellectual Property Owners Association

Serving the Global Intellectual Property Community


U.S. Trademark Law Committee


The Committee will identify and comment upon federal and state legislative activities that would or are likely to significantly affect U.S. trademark law and practice.  The Committee will also work in cooperation with the Amicus Brief Committee to identify opportunities for the IPO to consider filing amicus briefs in trademark cases.  The Committee will monitor developments related to the use of marks.  Where appropriate, the Committee will recommend positions that the IPO executive leadership may choose to advocate. The Committee will poll its membership on topics to be considered and will coordinate its efforts with other committees as appropriate.

Committee Roster

Chair: Jake Feldman, Johnson & Johnson
Chair: Valerie Verret, Exxon Mobil Corp.
Vice Chair: Joshua S. Jarvis, Foley Hoag LLP
Vice Chair: Wendy C. Larson, Pirkey Barber PLLC
Secretary: Alicia Morris Groos, Norton Rose Fulbright
Secretary: Anne E. Naffziger, Leydig, Voit & Mayer, Ltd.
Board Liaison: Steven W. Miller, Procter & Gamble Co.
Staff Liaison: Thomas S. Valente, Intellectual Property Owners Association


 Jennifer Robyn Ashton
 Seed IP Law Group LLP

 Brett A. August
 Pattishall, McAuliffe, Newbury, Hilliard & Geraldson LLP

 Ingrid Baele
 Koninklijke Philips N.V.

 Eric J. Ball
 Fenwick & West LLP

 April L. Besl
 Dinsmore & Shohl LLP

 Lynne MJ Boisineau
 McDermott Will & Emery

 Peter Brody
 Ropes & Gray LLP

 Mr. Darren S. Cahr
 Drinker, Biddle & Reath, LLP

 Patrick Concannon
 Nutter, McClennen & Fish, LLP

 Joshua Dalton
 Morgan, Lewis & Bockius, LLP

 Theodore H. Davis, Jr.
 Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP

 Ashley J. Earle
 Dinsmore & Shohl LLP

 David A. Einhorn
 Scarinci Hollenbeck

 Erica Fischer
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Matthew Frisbee
 Fross Zelnick Lehrman & Zissu, PC

 Rachel Geist
 Jones Day

 Mark Jansen
 Fenwick & West LLP

 Jonathan S. Jennings
 Pattishall, McAuliffe, Newbury, Hilliard & Geraldson LLP

 David P. Johnson
 Workman Nydegger

 Dana Justus
 Sterne, Kessler, Goldstein & Fox, PLLC

 Renee Keen
 HP Inc.

 Nicole Kinsley
 Foley Hoag LLP

 Jered Matthysse
 Pirkey Barber PLLC

 Jennifer Mikulina
 McDermott Will & Emery

 John Plumpe
 Epsilon Economics

 Dennis S. Prahl
 Ladas & Parry LLP

 Christine Ezzell Singer
 Ropes & Gray LLP

 Claudia W. Stangle
 Leydig, Voit & Mayer, Ltd.

 Andrew Stern
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Francis Toldi
 HP Inc.

 Elizabeth Twomey
 Eastman Chemical Co.

 Boris Umansky
 Ladas & Parry LLP

 David Weild, III
 Locke Lord LLP

 Meredith Wilkes
 Jones Day

 Michelle Zimmermann
 Leydig, Voit & Mayer, Ltd.


Non-Voting Member:Gunnar Bjorn Gundersen, Gundersen & Gundersen LLP

If you are an IPO Member, you may login to view committee contact information by clicking here.