Intellectual Property Owners Association

Serving the Global Intellectual Property Community


Canadian Practice


The Canadian Practice Committee seeks to promote a reliable and effective Canadian intellectual property regime through advocacy and education. The Committee will identify, monitor and study Canadian IP issues, including legislation, judicial decisions, and Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) activities and recommend an IPO position. This committee will also study and report on issues relating to Canadian antitrust and competition laws impacting intellectual property owners and seek to educate IPO members about these issues. The Committee envisions a membership including those located in Canada as well as those whose organizations seek or are interested in IP protection in Canada.

Committee Roster

Chair: Arvie Anderson, Eli Lilly and Co.
Chair: Brian Walsh, Bristol-Myers Squibb Company
Vice Chair: Santosh K. Chari, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
Vice Chair: Beverley Moore, Borden Ladner Gervais, LLP
Secretary: Diane Yee, Johnson & Johnson - Janssen Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Board Liaison: Robert DeBerardine, Johnson & Johnson
Staff Liaison: Thomas S. Valente, Intellectual Property Owners Association


 Jeffrey Astle
 United Technologies Corp.

 Melanie Baird
 Lenczner Slaght

 Julie Desrosiers
 Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP

 Tomas Karger
 Sim & McBurney

 Christian Leblanc
 Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP

 Kimberly McManus
 Aird & McBurney LP

 David A. Ruston
 Sim & McBurney

 Andrew Shaughnessy
 Torys LLP

 Patrick Stewart Smith
 Gowling WLG

 Peter R. Wilcox
 Belmore Neidrauer LLP


Non-Voting Member:Ann Whei Chen, Eli Lilly and Co.
Non-Voting Member:Sana Halwani, Lenczner Slaght
Non-Voting Member:Jean-Paul Hoffman, Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman, LLP
Non-Voting Member:Sushil Iyer, Fish & Richardson, PC

If you are an IPO Member, you may login to view committee contact information by clicking here.