Intellectual Property Owners Association

Serving the Global Intellectual Property Community


Copyright Law & Anti-Piracy Committee


The Committee will focus on determining what issues and topics regarding copyright law and practice are of greatest concern to the IPO membership and establish positions on those issues and topics that would most benefit IPO members. The Committee will be following significant bills in the U.S.’s Congress on copyright law and procedure, and taking positions where appropriate and consistent with the interests of IPO members. The Committee will also follow U.S. Copyright Office rule-making efforts of interest to intellectual property owners, and consider recommendations for involvement in the rule-making process where appropriate. The Committee will also follow initiatives in international groups such as WIPO and important cases relating to copyright as they occur. The Committee will attempt to consider the interests of both content owners and content users among the IPO community to develop balanced positions. The Committee will also work toward developing practice-oriented tools relating to copyright issues.

Because of the subject matter overlap between this committee and several other committees, when selecting topics, the Committee will consult and coordinate with the leadership of our sister committees. The Committee will also address such issues as the IPO Board of Directors asks this committee to consider.

Committee Roster

Chair: Terry Carroll, IBM Corp.
Vice Chair: Jenevieve J. Maerker, Foley Hoag LLP
Secretary: Lesley Coulson Boveri, SAP SE
Board Liaison: Matthew Sarboraria, Oracle Corporation
Staff Liaison: Thomas S. Valente, Intellectual Property Owners Association


 Jill Abasto
 Qualcomm Incorporated

 Andre Ferreira De Oliveira
 Daniel Legal & IP Strategy

 Andre Gibbs
 Dell Technologies

 Gunnar Bjorn Gundersen
 Gundersen & Gundersen LLP

 Anna Halsey
 Eversheds Sutherland (US) LLP

 Fred W. Hathaway
 Dickinson Wright PLLC

 Carolyn Knecht
 HP Inc.

 David Leichtman
 Leichtman Law PLLC

 Christopher Albee Mitchell
 Dickinson Wright PLLC

 Ranjan Narula
 RNA, Technology and IP Attorneys

 Richard Rochford
 Haynes and Boone, LLP

 Jose Antonio Sanmartin
 Hoyng Rokh Monegier

 Krista S. Schwartz
 Jones Day

 Katherine C. Spelman
 Microsoft Corp.

 Miriam Stiel

 Karen K. Williams


Non-Voting Member:Lesley Coulson Boveri, SAP SE
Non-Voting Member:Yalin Jiao, Advance China IP Law Office
Non-Voting Member:Richard F. Martinelli, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe, LLP
Non-Voting Member:Eric Maughan, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Non-Voting Member:Joshua L. Simmons, Kirkland & Ellis, LLP
Non-Voting Member:Wen Xie, Global IP Counselors, LLP

If you are an IPO Member, you may login to view committee contact information by clicking here.