Intellectual Property Owners Association

Serving the Global Intellectual Property Community


Damages and Injunctions Committee


The Damages & Injunctions Committee intends to identify and discuss the various legal and economic theories of intellectual property damages currently accepted by the courts, including the elements necessary to prove damages under those theories. The Committee will strive to examine, compare and contrast the damages frameworks in various intellectual property fields. Damages theories discussed will include reasonable royalty, lost profits, price erosion, and any other theory of damages that may be allowed by the courts.

In addition, the Committee will consider trends in intellectual property law, including ongoing and proposed changes to the law, and evaluate the effect or expected effect of those changes on damages theory. Where appropriate, recommendations will be made to the board to formally suggest modifications to existing laws.

Committee Roster

Chair: Thomas A. Brown, Dell Technologies
Vice Chair: Jenna Pellecchia, Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Secretary: Julianne Hartzell, Marshall, Gerstein & Borun LLP
Board Liaison: Thomas R. Beall, Corning Incorporated
Staff Liaison: Samantha J. Aguayo, Intellectual Property Owners Association


 Sherry Womack Austin
 Koninklijke Philips N.V.

 Tony Beasley
 O'Melveny & Myers LLP

 Richard F. Bero
 The BERO Group

 Michael Bittner
 Winston & Strawn LLP

 Shannon L. Bjorklund
 Dorsey & Whitney, LLP

 John R. Bone
 Stout Risius Ross

 Rebecca Carrizosa
 Ropes & Gray LLP

 Jeff J. Catalano
 Brinks Gilson & Lione

 Smita Chandra
 ALG India Law Offices LLP

 Michael Chapman

 Alan Cox
 NERA Economic Consulting

 Brian M. Daniel
 Charles River Associates

 Craig Davis
 HP Inc.

 Richard Eichmann
 NERA Economic Consulting

 Vernon Evans

 Syed Kamil Fareed
 Baker Botts LLP

 Daniel Foster
 McDermott Will & Emery

 Natalie Alfaro Gonzales
 Baker Botts LLP

 Chris Jaczko
 Procopio, Cory, Hargreaves & Savitch LLP

 John Jarosz
 Analysis Group

 Molly Keelan
 Ocean Tomo

 Chris Kuyper
 Koninklijke Philips N.V.

 Deanna Kwong
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Andrew Liddell
 Norton Rose Fulbright

 Michal Andrzej Malkiewicz

 Vincent Man
 Baylis Medical Company Inc.

 James L. McGovern
 McGovern & Greene LLP

 Dominic Persechini

 Mark A. Peterson
 Robinwood Consulting LLC

 Gregory A. Pinsonneault

 Alan Ratliff

 Juli Saitz

 Howard Shatz
 Nokia of Americas Corp

 Lisa J. Ulrich
 IBM Corp.

 Baldassare Vinti
 Proskauer Rose, LLP

 Shirley Webster
 Ocean Tomo

 Andrew Wiseman


Non-Voting Member:Ronald A. Antush, Nokia of Americas Corp
Non-Voting Member:Brett E. Bachtell, Qualcomm Incorporated
Non-Voting Member:Justin Hendrix, United Technologies Corp.
Non-Voting Member:David W. Long, Essential Patent LLC
Non-Voting Member:Gary M. Ropski, Brinks Gilson & Lione
Non-Voting Member:John A. Scott, Qualcomm Incorporated
Non-Voting Member:Timothy Syrett, Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr, LLP
Non-Voting Member:Ya Zhang, Advance China IP Law Office

If you are an IPO Member, you may login to view committee contact information by clicking here.