Intellectual Property Owners Association

Serving the Global Intellectual Property Community


International Patent Law & Trade Committee


The Committee will focus on developing and proposing IPO positions(coordinating with other committees
and IPO members), awareness (white papers and education) and monitoring developments in:

1. Intellectual property in the context of trade, such providing comments to the U.S. Trade
Representative (USTR) for the annual Special 301 Report, bilateral trade agreements (e.g.,

2. WIPO and international patent filing including improving the cost efficiency of international
patent portfolios;

3. Genetic resources and traditional knowledge to develop legal frameworks for access and
benefit sharing that will lead to increased international conservation and to effective and
equitable utilization of genetic resources and traditional knowledge; and

4. Global assignment, which is an IP5 Patent Harmonization Experts Panel initiative to streamline
recording ownership of patents, utility models, provisional applications, and priority rights
around the world.

Committee Roster

Chair: Stephen W. Bauer, Medtronic, Inc.
Vice Chair: Janet Cord, Ladas & Parry LLP
Vice Chair: Mark Guetlich, Viziv Technologies, LLC
Vice Chair: Ognian V. Shentov, Jones Day
Secretary: Mark W. Croll, Leydig, Voit & Mayer, Ltd.
Board Liaison: Todd N. Spalding, Alexion Pharmaceuticals
Staff Liaison: Thomas S. Valente, Intellectual Property Owners Association


 John Beninati
 Honeywell International Inc.

 Cristian Bittel
 Marval, O'Farrell & Mairal

 Anouk Boon
 Shell International B.V.

 Kevin Cordina
 Simmons & Simmons LLP

 David Crichton
 Johnson & Johnson

 John P. Darling
 General Electric Co.

 Janet E. Fair
 Merck & Co Inc.

 Jan Frankhuizen
 HP Inc.

 Mareesa A. Frederick
 Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, LLP

 Mavis Gallenson
 Ladas & Parry LLP

 Roger Gobrogge

 Dean M. Harts
 3M Innovative Properties Co.

 Samson Helfgott
 Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP

 Elizabeth E. Houlihan
 Houlihan² Patent & Trade Mark Attorneys

 Wayne C. Jaeschke, Jr.
 Johnson & Johnson

 Mr. George W. Jonas
 BP America, Inc.

 Tod Kupstas
 Siemens Corp.

 Xin Liu
 Johnson & Johnson

 Taylor Meacham

 G. Peter Nichols
 Barnes & Thornburg LLP

 Sergio L. Olivares, Jr.
 Olivares Y Compania S.C.

 Jonathan P. Osha
 Osha Liang, LLP

 Milin Patel
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Michael Pedley
 BP America, Inc.

 Kathryn A. Piffat

 Richard Pitman

 Sharon Reiche
 Pfizer Inc.

 Kent Robbins

 Rebecca P. Rokos
 Banner & Witcoff, Ltd.

 Bhanu Sadasivan
 McDermott Will & Emery

 Adam Schlosser
 Drinker, Biddle & Reath, LLP

 Mark Scott
 Siemens Corp.

 Philip Soo
 3M Innovative Properties Co.

 Tsu-shin Gail Su
 Google Inc.

 Erika Takeuchi
 Dow Chemical Co.

 Holger Carl Tostmann
 Wallinger Ricker Schlotter Tostmann

 Randall Vaas
 Google Inc.

 Bill Warren
 Eversheds Sutherland (US) LLP

 David M. Weisberg
 Boisbrun Hofman PLLC

 Stephen S. Wentsler
 Wentsler LLC

 Sansun Yeh
 Michael Best & Friedrich LLP


Non-Voting Member:Steven M. Auvil, Squire Patton Boggs
Non-Voting Member:David Black, Schwegman Lundberg & Woessner, P.A.
Non-Voting Member:Alex Bridge, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Non-Voting Member:Santosh K. Chari, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
Non-Voting Member:Manisha A. Desai, UCB Biopharma SPRL
Non-Voting Member:Maximilienne Giannelli, Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, LLP
Non-Voting Member:Guillaume Jaulerry
Non-Voting Member:Alex Liang, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Non-Voting Member:Erica Lowthers, Aird & McBurney LP
Non-Voting Member:Toby Mak, Tee & Howe Intellectual Property Attorneys
Non-Voting Member:Mickki Murray, Medtronic, Inc.
Non-Voting Member:Corey Salsberg, Novartis
Non-Voting Member:Judy Shi, Advance China IP Law Office
Non-Voting Member:Wenwen Wang, Advance China IP Law Office
Non-Voting Member:Lawrence T. Welch

If you are an IPO Member, you may login to view committee contact information by clicking here.