Intellectual Property Owners Association

Serving the Global Intellectual Property Community


U.S. International Trade Commission Committee


The U.S. International Trade Commission Committee will develop materials and programs to educate
intellectual property owners about the opportunities, costs, challenges, and best practices for using
section 337 to enforce intellectual property rights through the U.S. International Trade Commission. It
will review changes in section 337 law and practice affecting the rights of intellectual property owners
and will inform IPO members about those changes. It will also seek to identify opportunities for
improvement in the current statutory, procedural, and enforcement framework and to respond to,
recommend and promote changes that would enhance its value for intellectual property owners
through, e.g., submission of comments and educating the public about ongoing developments.
Examples of topics to be considered include establishing domestic industry under a variety of business
models, the comparative costs and benefits of section 337 actions, the benefits and restrictions of
protective orders, the scope of discovery, the scope of the Commission’s jurisdiction, the requirement of
proof of injury in actions arising under the common law, and the scope and impact of section 337
remedial orders–limited and general exclusion orders and cease-and-desist orders.

Committee Roster

Chair: Brett E. Bachtell, Qualcomm Incorporated
Vice Chair: Sarah Hamblin
Vice Chair: Elizabeth A. Niemeyer, Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, LLP
Secretary: Daniel Valencia, Covington & Burling LLP
Board Liaison: Scott Barker, Micron Technology, Inc.
Staff Liaison: Samantha J. Aguayo, Intellectual Property Owners Association


 Anthony J. Baca
 HP Inc.

 Matthew Bathon
 Steptoe & Johnson LLP

 G. Brian Busey
 Morrison & Foerster, LLP

 Danny Lee Childs
 Dow Chemical Co.

 Timothy Patrick Cremen
 Fried Frank Harris Shriver & Jacobson LLP

 Anthony Del Monaco
 Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, LLP

 Michael Esch
 Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr, LLP

 Patrick Farley

 Adam R. Hess
 Venable, LLP

 Brian D. Hill
 Alston & Bird LLP

 David M. Maiorana
 Jones Day

 Kevin Patariu
 Perkins Coie, LLP

 H. Jonathan Redway
 Dickinson Wright PLLC

 Jay Reiziss
 McDermott Will & Emery

 Grant Ritz
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Matthew J. Rizzolo
 Ropes & Gray LLP

 Tom M. Schaumberg
 Adduci, Mastriani & Schaumberg, LLP

 Bryan Schwartz
 Squire Patton Boggs

 Adam Swain
 Alston & Bird LLP

 T. Cy Walker

 Blair Watters
 InterDigital Holdings, Inc.

Non-Voting Member:Ronald A. Antush, Nokia of Americas Corp
Non-Voting Member:Sherry Womack Austin, Koninklijke Philips N.V.
Non-Voting Member:Steven M. Auvil, Squire Patton Boggs
Non-Voting Member:Alex Bridge, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Non-Voting Member:Michele Connors, Dell Technologies
Non-Voting Member:Syed Kamil Fareed, Baker Botts LLP
Non-Voting Member:Guillaume Jaulerry
Non-Voting Member:Shirley Lu, Advance China IP Law Office
Non-Voting Member:Gary Savitt, Nokia of Americas Corp
Non-Voting Member:John A. Scott, Qualcomm Incorporated
Non-Voting Member:Daniel A. Staley, Caterpillar Inc.

If you are an IPO Member, you may login to view committee contact information by clicking here.