Intellectual Property Owners Association

Serving the Global Intellectual Property Community


Litigation Committee


It is very important to intellectual property owners that litigation involving their intellectual property rights be conducted fairly, efficiently and expeditiously. The committee will investigate ways to achieve those objectives and recommend actions to achieve positive change in patent litigation and related proceedings in the US. Areas of potential focus include: (a) judicial practices and procedures; (b) emerging case law; (c) litigation management and best practices for in-house counsel; and (d) relevant statistical assessment of cost effective patent litigation. In addition to focusing on paths to improving the litigation process, the committee scope includes developing information resources for intellectual property owners and their management regarding the complexity, cost and risks of intellectual property litigation.

Committee Roster

Chair: Laurie Gathman Kowalsky, Koninklijke Philips N.V.
Chair: Kirby W. Lee, Ecolab Inc.
Vice Chair: Brian Horne, Knobbe, Martens, Olson & Bear, LLP
Vice Chair: Eileen M. Hunter, 3M Innovative Properties Co.
Vice Chair: Eley O. Thompson, Foley & Lardner LLP
Secretary: Michael Kahn, Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Board Liaison: Steve Caltrider, Eli Lilly and Co.
Staff Liaison: Samantha J. Aguayo, Intellectual Property Owners Association


 Steven M. Auvil
 Squire Patton Boggs

 Jonathan Baker
 Dickinson Wright PLLC

 Neeraj Bali
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 John Bennett
 Ulmer & Berne, LLP

 Sean Boyle
 Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc.

 Nathaniel Browand
 Milbank, Tweed, Hadley & McCloy, LLP

 Ronald Cahill
 Nutter, McClennen & Fish, LLP

 Todd Cason

 Alex Verbin Chachkes
 Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe, LLP

 Michael S. Connor
 Alston & Bird LLP

 Joshua D. Curry
 Dentons US LLP

 Kenneth R. Davis, II
 Lane Powell PC

 Tom W. Davison
 Alston & Bird LLP

 Michael A. Dorfman
 Dykema Gossett PLLC

 James Loughlin Duncan, III
 Eversheds Sutherland (US) LLP

 Christine H. Dupriest
 Womble Bond Dickinson LLP

 Dianne Elderkin
 Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP

 Melissa Finocchio
 Intellectual Ventures Management, LLC

 Porter F. Fleming
 Haug Partners LLP

 Tamara Fraizer
 Squire Patton Boggs

 Ralph J. Gabric
 Brinks Gilson & Lione

 Michael Garvin
 Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP

 Chris Godziela
 Nokia of Americas Corp

 John M. Griem, Jr.
 Carter Ledyard & Milburn LLP

 Stephen M. Hankins
 Riley Safer Holmes & Cancila LLP

 Judy K. He
 Brinks Gilson & Lione

 Preston H. Heard
 Womble Bond Dickinson LLP

 Kristina Hendricks
 Kirkland & Ellis, LLP

 Barry J. Herman
 Womble Bond Dickinson LLP

 Gary M. Hoffman
 Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman, LLP

 Lauren Ingebritson
 Dinsmore & Shohl LLP

 Angela Johnson

 Jennifer A. Johnson

 Michael Kennedy
 Covington & Burling LLP

 Philip Kerr

 Roy A. Kim
 Johnson & Johnson

 Joshua Kresh
 DLA Piper LLP

 Richard Kurz
 Haug Partners LLP

 Jeffrey I.D. Lewis
 Norton Rose Fulbright

 Tiffany Lewis

 Art Licygiewicz
 Thompson Hine LLP

 Patrick A. Lujin
 Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP

 John A. Marlott
 Jones Day

 Kurt Mathas
 Winston & Strawn LLP

 Michael P. McGraw
 Shell International B.V.

 Elizabeth Ann Morgan
 The Morgan Law Firm P.C.

 Jason Mudd
 Erise IP, P.A.

 Ross Oehler
 Johnson Matthey Inc.

 Lynn H. Pasahow
 Fenwick & West LLP

 Cullen N. Pendleton
 Dow Chemical Co.

 Marc J. Pensabene
 O'Melveny & Myers LLP

 Andrew T. Radsch
 Ropes & Gray LLP

 Ruben Rodrigues
 Foley & Lardner LLP

 Eric Ruhlmann
 Johnson & Johnson

 Andy Schwentker
 Fish & Richardson, PC

 John A. Scott
 Qualcomm Incorporated

 Peter M. Siavelis
 Barnes & Thornburg LLP

 David Stein
 Greenberg Gross LLP

 Gregory M. Stone
 Whiteford, Taylor & Preston LLP

 David Tobin
 Baker Botts LLP

 Jeffrey Curtiss Totten
 Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, LLP

 Elizabeth Tse
 HP Inc.

 Ellisen Shelton Turner
 Irell & Manella LLP

 Jessica Tyrus
 Green Griffith Borg-Breen LLP

 Vaishali Udupa
 Hewlett Packard Enterprise

 Linda A. Wadler
 Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, LLP

 Ryan K. Walsh
 Jones Day

 David Westergard
 Micron Technology, Inc.

 Sherri Wilson
 Dykema Gossett PLLC

 Steven McMahon Zeller
 Dykema Gossett PLLC


Non-Voting Member:Ronald A. Antush, Nokia of Americas Corp
Non-Voting Member:Eric C. Cohen, Brinks Gilson & Lione
Non-Voting Member:David Conrad, Fish & Richardson, PC
Non-Voting Member:Bo Han, Bristol-Myers Squibb Company
Non-Voting Member:Mark Kupets, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Non-Voting Member:Nicholas Lam, United Technologies Corp.
Non-Voting Member:David W. Long, Essential Patent LLC
Non-Voting Member:John B. Pegram, Fish & Richardson, PC
Non-Voting Member:Karen Vogel Weil, Knobbe, Martens, Olson & Bear, LLP

If you are an IPO Member, you may login to view committee contact information by clicking here.