Intellectual Property Owners Association

Serving the Global Intellectual Property Community


U.S. Trademark Office Practice Committee


The Committee will study and report on issues relating to the quality, timeliness, budget and efficiency of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. The Committee plans to continue to explore ways to streamline and improve trademark registrations and will make recommendations for appropriate legislation, practice and rules changes to effect such registration improvement. Among other things, the committee will look at the USPTO funding process, will monitor the USPTO Trademark Public Advisory Committee and will track pertinent U.S. legislation. The Committee may look at foreign legislation and processes in evaluating recommendations for legislative, rules and practices changes. The Committee plans to address additional topics as they are raised and agreed upon by its members. The Committee will coordinate its work with appropriate committees.

Committee Roster

Chair: Jenny Greisman, IBM Corp.
Vice Chair: Allison Strickland Ricketts, Fross Zelnick Lehrman & Zissu, PC
Secretary: Lauriel F. Dalier, Sterne, Kessler, Goldstein & Fox, PLLC
Board Liaison: Lorie Ann Morgan, Gilead Sciences, Inc.
Staff Liaison: Thomas S. Valente, Intellectual Property Owners Association


 Tom Adams
 Procter & Gamble Co.

 Jennifer L. Dean
 Drinker, Biddle & Reath, LLP

 Lillian Drumheller
 Koninklijke Philips N.V.

 Sandra Epp Ryan
 Hamre, Schumann, Mueller & Larson, P.C.

 Jennifer Fraser
 Dykema Gossett PLLC

 Christopher Graff
 Pirkey Barber PLLC

 Bassam N. Ibrahim
 Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC

 Laura Konkel
 Michael Best & Friedrich LLP

 Gary J. Nelson
 Lewis Roca Rothgerber Christie LLP

 Nila Ray
 Fletcher Yoder

 Jeff Smith
 Millen, White, Zelano & Branigan, PC


Non-Voting Member:Yalin JIAO, Advance China IP Law Office
Non-Voting Member:Lisa J. Ulrich, IBM Corp.

If you are an IPO Member, you may login to view committee contact information by clicking here.